The famous PSV Eindhoven

PSV Eindhoven will Apollon FC face for Play-Off of UEFA Europa League 2019-2020.

The Philips Sport Vereniging (English: Philips Sports Union), abbreviated as PSV and internationally known as PSV Eindhoven is a sports club from Eindhoven, Netherlands, that plays in the Eredivisie, the top tier in Dutch football. It is best known for its professional football department, which has played in the Eredivisie since its inception in 1956. Along with Ajax and Feyenoord, PSV is one of the country’s “big three” clubs that have dominated the Eredivisie.

PSV won several trophies even before the introduction of professional football. The now impressive honor roll starts in 1929. PSV becomes champion of the Netherlands for the first time. The first national title in professional football is achieved in 1963, with a 5-2 victory over Ajax. In addition to 24 national titles, nine national cups and ten Super Cups, PSV is also establishing its name outside the Netherlands. Since 1974 the club has played continuously in a European context. The first highlight is the win of the UEFA Cup in 1978 led by Willy van der Kuylen. It is the beginning of a new period for the club. From that moment on, a team was built that reached its peak in the eighties with many international top players. Between 1986 and 1992 PSV won the national championship six times and the KNVB cup three times.

PSV has won the local championship 24 times but the greatest honor was the Champions Cup of 1988.